Day Trips from St. Andrews

St. Andrews is a great place to stay as a base for visiting nearby sites.  Families can spend a leisurely day at the beach followed by ice cream at Janetta’s on South Street in view of the ancient Cathedral, and take a more ambitious excursion the following day.  Where to go?

The closest city is Dundee. It’s less than a 30 minute drive by car or bus. The bus isn’t a bad option; they leave about every half an hour from St. Andrews bus station (and other places), and take you into Dundee City Center. This option also means no parking fees or finding a place to park. There you can shop (all major stores available in pedestrian settings), or visit any number of historic sites.  After visiting the Dundee’s Visitor web site, I am amazed by all the attractions in the area — specifically Angus, the county in which Dundee sits.

Arbroath Abbey, Angus, Scotland

Arbroath Abbey, Angus, Scotland

One of the major attractions are the ships: the 175 year-old Frigate Unicorn, Scotland’s only example of a wooden warship; the RRS (Royal Research Ship) Discovery, the ship taken to the Antarctic by Captain Scot from 1901-1904. A ‘Heroes of the Ice” museum tells the story at Discovery Point and includes state-of-the-art audio-visual and computer based multimedia presentations, alongside displays of actual artefacts that belonged to Scott and the brave crew who sailed with him.

Further afield (about an hour’s drive) there’s Glamis Castle, the girlhood home of the late Queen Mother, Queen Elizabeth’s mom.  It’s over 500 years old in places, and is still the home of the current Earl of Strathmore, Michael Fergus, and his family. Its setting in the rural county of Angus, about 20 miles north of Dundee, is both scenic and serene.  The grounds of the castle are gorgeous with both formal and natural gardens, walks, and picnicing areas.  (Food is available to purchase, too.)  The House itself is impressive and quirky, both in architecture and stories; it is one of my personal favorites.

glamis

Even being familiar with the area, I was surprised by the number of things to see and places to go in Angus. Stately homes, well-maintained ruins, ships, pedestrian areas and parks, and golf courses. And in case of emergencies, one of the best hospitals in Scotland. One of the places I’d like to visit is the fairly recently renovated Verdant Works, a 19th century jute mill.  “Work in the Dundee jute mills of the 19th century offered little but drudgery, exhaustion, low wages and constant danger. Most of the workers were women and children (they cost less to employ) and employment law was virtually non-existent.” With a booming shipping industry in a large empire, jute was in demand, and an important source of employment in Dundee. The modern Verdant Works includes a wide range of displays including film shows, multimedia computers and hands-on activities. It sounds like a great day out for all the family.

Verdant Works re-enactors

Verdant Works re-enactors

About Val_ToWriter

I really want to be a children's writer. I've been a children's teacher all my working adult life -- first my own children, then other's. In school, writing was my strength, but when I went to university, I studied Medieval History. Go figure. Then when my kids were all in school I got a M.Ed. in elementary education and ended up in teaching technology -- which doesn't mean I can manipulate Word Press faultlessly. My first "real" job involved public relations writing -- and that runs the gamut from getting down basic facts to speech writing and promotional pieces. When I became a teacher, most of my writing was either unit and lesson plans or report cards comments! But I've had a few things published from time to time in the local newspapers when something strikes me as exceptionally interesting or really irritating. Now that I've retired, I'm writing to practice for what one day will be a children's book. I've got a critique group and I listen to them. I'm reading kidlit. I'm learning all the time, and I'm also realizing that history is pulling me back from the past (and my past).

Posted on June 6, 2014, in Dundee, Scotland travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

